Landspeed New Zealand Ass.

Timed Speed Event

Goudies Road, Reporoa

Sunday 10<sup>th</sup> February 2019



The weather for the day's event was warm and dry. The temperature at 9.30am was 17 degrees centigrade climbing to 28 degrees by 3.30 pm. The wind (from the south) was 8kph at 9.30am increasing to 14kph by 3.30pm. Relatively humidity varied considerably being 67% at 9.30am and 35% at 3.30pm

Goudies road provides a straight of 5.5km with a certified gradient of less than 1% with a timed section of 402.336 meters (1/4 mile) in the centre. Certified Tag Heuer timing equipment is used for all Landspeed NZ Ass. events.

Fastest Car – Darryl Dolby, 2008 Nissan R35GTR – 330.38kph (one way run)

Fastest Bike – Stuart Goldsworthy, Kawasaki H2R – 351.13kph (one way run)

This fastest one-way run set by Stuart Goldsworthy on a Kawasaki H2R of 351.13kph (218mph) was not followed by a run the other way, because due to the removal of factory stabilizer wings, the bike become unstable at that speed so for safety's sake the return run was abandoned.

The fastest two way run (average speed over two consecutive runs) was 340.53kph set by Scott Wilkins on a Kawasaki H2R. This sets a new Landspeed NZ Ass. Open Motorcycle record beating the previous record of 336.38kph held by Shane Dixon on a Suzuki Hayabusa.

Chris Lysaght joins just seven other members of the Landspeed NZ Ass. 200mph club, riding his Suzuki 1350 Hayabusa.

Darryl Dolby (2008 Nissan R35 GTR) gave an exhibition one way run of 330.38kph on last year's tyres. He awaits special new tyres which the believes will allow him to exceed his current Landspeed NZ Ass. record of 357.02kph by 15kph. 370kph will be a feat to be seen.

Tony Mathews with his Mustang GT producing 550hp found that the 250kph limiter had not been removed, the same was found by John Thompson with his 640hp carbon fibre body AMG Mercedes whose limiter was stuck at 250kph. Both drivers will be back next year with the limiters removed

The top three participants on the day were all riding Kawasaki H2R - Stuart Goldsworthy, Scott Wilkins and John Seccombe.

Huge thanks were expressed by all participants to the work put in by LSNZ President John Seccombe in making this event happen, to Malcolm Clunie and his safety crew for the Event Management and to the numerous other volunteers who gave their time to a very successful day.

Top Five Cars (Best Average speed over consecutive runs each way)				
No.	Name	Make & Model	Speed (kph)	
1	Darryl Dolby	Nissan GTR Blown	321.13	
2	Glen Collins	Corvette ZRI	279.71	

3	Tim Strange	Holden Maloo R8 340	259.49
4	Tony Mathews	Mustang GT	256.22
5	John Thompson	Mercedes E635	250.43

Top Five Bikes (Best Average speed over consecutive runs each way)				
No.	Name	Make & Model	Speed (kph)	
1	Scott Wilkins	Kawasaki H2R	340.53	
2	Stuart Goldsworthy	Kawasaki H2R	336.25	
3	John Seccombe	Kawasaki H2R	326.55	
4	Chris Lysaght	Suzuki 1350 Hayabusa	320.10	
5	Shane Dixon	Suzuki 1350 Hayabusa	316.49	

## Full list of Results (Best Average speed over consecutive runs each way & best one way run)

No.	Name	Make & Model	Ave/Both ways (kph)	Single Run (kph)
1	Scott Wilkins	Kawasaki H2R	340.53	342.41
2	Stuart Goldsworthy	Kawasaki H2R	336.25	351.13
3	John Seccombe	Kawasaki H2R	326.55	326.88
4	Darryl Dolby	Nissan GTR Blown	321.13	330.38
5	Chris Lysaght	Suzuki 1350 Hayabusa	320.1	322.23
6	Shane Dixon	Suzuki 1350 Hayabusa	316.49	317.22
7	Walter Rands-Trevor	Kawasaki ZX10R	311.97	315.83
8	Craig Oliver	Kawasaki Z12R	308.93	309.16
9	Gregory Hassan	Ducati Panigale 1000cc	304.93	306.67
10	Jamin Patching	Kawasaki ZX14R	302.96	304.67
11	Laurie Vercoe	BMW S1000RR	300.59	303.65
12	Ed Dekker	BMW S1000RR	298.21	299.26
13	Colin Macgregor	BMZ 1000cc	291.44	294.69
14	Glen Collins	Corvette ZRI	279.71	281.68
15	Anthony Wilson	Kawasaki ZX10R	279.59	281.41
16	Tim Strange	Holden Maloo R8 340	259.49	262.49
17	Roy Harkness	Triumph Daytona 675	257.34	258.14
18	Tony Mathews	Mustang GT	256.22	256.22
19	Ash Beck	Kawasaki ZZR600	255.12	256.81
20	John Thompson	Mercedes E635	250.43	250.98
21	Warren Marshall	Yamaha 1000	246.98	247.17
22	Blue Dorward	Jaguar TWR V12	246.24	248.44
23	Mark Wilton	Yamaha MT10	246.12	246.16

24	Donald McIntyre	Ford Mustang 5000	245.69	251.07
25	Craig Cross	Honda VTR1000F	238.03	239.68
26	Conrad Rains	Ford Falcon 5000 Blown	229.3	229.4
27	Colin Moore	Nissan Skyline GTR	215.3	218.13
28	John Kinsley-smith	Triumph 1000cc	189.71	190.71
29	Ken King	Austin Healey - Sports Car	185.14	191.94
30	Neil Baker	Belly Tank Lakester	166.51	168.3

## **Photos of the event**

































